Winter School Revise & Revitalize

Academic Writing & Presentation Skills for Researchers

Applications open until January 8, 2023!

The 6-day Winter School offers pre- and post-doc researchers the opportunity to learn the fundamentals of scientific writing and presentation in a productive and supportive atmosphere.

The goal of the Winter School is to demystify the unwritten rules of scientific writing and provide researchers with a clear blueprint for their articles and presentations. Modules on scientific writing and presentation are balanced with revitalize sessions that focus on holistic health and insights on how to build a sustainable career in research.

The program is composed of 3 days of inputs on academic writing, presentation and healthy working followed by a 3-day writing retreat. Writing & revitalize coaching sessions, fireside evenings and peer exchange complement the Winter School.

The target group for the Winter School are junior and senior researchers working on English-language dissertations or journal articles who want to develop their skills for further careers in academia or scientific communication. 14 participants will be selected according to an application process. The program language is English.

Apply now!

Application Criteria

Apply until January 8 with a CV (max. 2 pages), a letter of motivation (max. 1 page) detailing how the Winter School would benefit your career development, and an abstract of the paper you plan to revise during the program. Applications must be pre- or post-doc researchers affiliated with an Austrian research organization or university. All fields of study are accepted.

Icon Credit: Eucalyp via Canva.com

Winter School 2021 Alumnus

When applying for the Winter School, I never anticipated that I would benefit so much. It not only taught me how to sharpen my academic writing skills, but also enabled me to acquire a daily writing habit. It allowed me, as a non-native speaker, to embrace the challenges of English writing and also helped me, as a young scholar, to be mentally prepared for the challenges of academic life.

Any questions? Contact us!

Mag. Christine Hudetz, MA

Program Manager

+43 (0)1 513 27 50-36 Puevfgvar.Uhqrgm@yot.np.ng

Winter School Revise & Revitalize

Academic Writing & Presentation Skills for Researchers
Bewerbungen bis zum 8. Januar 2023!

Die 6-tägige Winter School bietet Pre- und Post-Doc-Forschenden die Möglichkeit, die Grundlagen des wissenschaftlichen Schreibens und Präsentierens in einer produktiven und unterstützenden Atmosphäre zu erlernen.

Ziel der Winter School ist es, die ungeschriebenen Regeln des wissenschaftlichen Schreibens zu entmystifizieren und den Forschenden einen klaren Bauplan für ihre Artikel und Präsentationen mit auf den Weg zu geben. Module zum wissenschaftlichen Schreiben und Präsentieren werden durch Revitalize-Sessions zum Thema gesundes Arbeiten ergänzt.

Das Programm besteht aus 3 Tagen mit theoretischen Inputs zu wissenschaftlichem Schreiben, Präsentieren und gesundem Arbeiten, gefolgt von einem 3-tägigen Writing-Retreat. Writing- und Revitalize-Coachings, Kaminabende und kollegialer Austausch runden die Winter School ab.

Zielgruppe der Winter School sind Pre- und Post-Docs, die an englischsprachigen Dissertationen oder Zeitschriftenartikeln arbeiten und ihre Fähigkeiten für eine weitere Karriere im akademischen Bereich oder in der wissenschaftlichen Kommunikation ausbauen möchten. 14 Teilnehmende werden auf der Grundlage eines Bewerbungsverfahrens ausgewählt. Die Programmsprache ist Englisch.

Jetzt anmelden!

Bewerbungsprozess

Bewirb dich bis zum 8. Januar mit einem Lebenslauf (max. 2 Seiten), einem Motivationsschreiben (max. 1 Seite), in dem du darlegst, wie die Winter School deine Karriereentwicklung fördert, und einem Abstract des Papers, an dem du während des Programms arbeiten möchtest. Die Bewerbung ist für alle Pre- oder Post-Docs möglich, die an einer österreichischen Forschungsorganisation oder Universität angestellt sind. Es werden alle Studienrichtungen akzeptiert.

Icon Credit: Eucalyp via Canva.com

Winter School 2021 Alumnus

Ich hätte niemals erwartet, dass ich so sehr von der Winter School profitieren würde! Ich habe nicht nur gelernt, wie ich meine akademischen Schreibfähigkeiten verbessern kann, sondern auch, wie ich mir angewöhne, regelmäßiger zu schreiben. Ich bin kein Englisch-Muttersprachler, habe durch das Programm aber gelernt, mich den Herausforderungen des englischen Schreibens zu stellen und erhielt eine großartige Vorbereitung.

Du hast Fragen? Trete mit uns in Kontakt

Mag. Christine Hudetz, MA

Program Manager

+43 1 513 27 50-36 Puevfgvar.Uhqrgm@yot.np.ng